Glass – and stockings

Murals – Glass and stocking factory

 

schweissSchleusingen , the former residence of the Counts of Henneberg , had developed to their extinction to officials and university town . Crafts , trade and agriculture existed synonymous adjacent. And so was the establishment of the glassworks Friedrichswerk by the glass manufacturer Heinz Adam in 1853 is of great importance for further economic development of the city . Even today, this operation – Thüringer Behälterglas GmbH – an indispensable part of the economy of our city .
The Glashütte time in 1869 was followed by a glass instrument factory . Here thermometers, barometers and equipment for chemical, physical and surgical purposes for example, were produced . In the glassworks hand bottles , pressing and hollow glasses and bottles were among others produced. Many people of our city found in the glass industry work . In 1949 , as the wall paintings created at the town hall , was the glass factory is the largest employer in Schleusingen .

strumpffabrikIn addition to the glass industry offered especially for women and girls , the stocking factory in Suhl street work . On January 1, 1955 from the former fungus Trumpf factory VEB Elektromotorenwerk Suhl , branch operation Schleusingen . Known in the parlance as IKA . In 1954 , the operation at least 170 employees , at later times on 900th

Glas – und Strümpfe

Wandmalereien –  Glas- und Strumpffabrik

 

schweissSchleusingen, die einstige Residenz der Grafen von Henneberg, hatte sich nach deren Aussterben zu einer Beamten- und Schulstadt entwickelt. Handwerk, Gewerbe und Landwirtschaft existierten gleichbedeutend nebeneinander. Und so war die Gründung der Glashütte Friedrichswerk durch den Glasfabrikanten Adam Heinz im Jahr 1853 von großer Bedeutung für die weitere wirtschaftliche Entwicklung der Stadt. Auch heute ist dieser Betrieb – Thüringer Behälterglas GmbH – aus dem Wirtschaftsleben unserer Stadt nicht wegzudenken.
Der Glashütte folgte damals 1869 eine Glasinstrumentenfabrik. Hier wurden beispielsweise Thermometer, Barometer und Geräte für chemische, physikalische und chirurgische Zwecke produziert. In der Glashütte dagegen wurden Flaschen, Preß- und Hohlgläser sowie Flakons u.a. hergestellt. Viele Menschen unserer Stadt fanden in der Glasindustrie Arbeit. Im Jahre 1949, als die Wandmalereien im Rathaus entstanden, war das Glaswerk der größte Arbeitgeber in Schleusingen.

strumpffabrikNeben der Glasindustrie bot vor allem für Frauen und Mädchen die Strumpffabrik in der Suhler Straße Arbeit. Am 1. Januar 1955 wurde aus der ehemaligen Pilzstrumpffabrik der VEB Elektromotorenwerk Suhl, Zweigbetrieb Schleusingen. Im Sprachgebrauch als IKA bekannt. 1954 hatte der Betrieb immerhin 170 Mitarbeiter, zu späteren Zeiten über 900.